Home Awards North West directors shortlisted for national awards

North West directors shortlisted for national awards


Ten of the region’s most accomplished directors are set to compete on the national stage this October at the 2019 Institute of Directors ‘Director of the Year’ Awards. The glittering event, which this year is being hosted by veteran broadcaster Sir Trevor McDonald OBE will see business leaders from throughout the UK, go head to head in categories including Family Business Director of the Year and Young Director of the Year.

Representing the very best of North West talent, with finalists coming from Stockport to Knowlsey and the Isle of Man, the ten inspirational leaders have been shortlisted following their individual wins at the regional awards in April.

They include Stockport-based Donald Moore of Rowlinson Knitwear who is up for both the Corporate Social Responsibility and Small-Medium Business Director of the Year awards as well as James Timpson OBE of Wythenshawe-based Timpson Group, who competes in the Family Business Director of the Year Award.

Other stand out finalists from the North West include Debbie Francis of Crewe based Direct Rail Services Ltd for the Inclusivity Director of the Year award, Dr Maurizio Bragagni MBA of Tratos Ltd in Knowsley for Director in Innovation award and AppLearn’s Andrew Avanessian for the Young director category.

The Director of the Year national final takes place on Friday 18th October at The Brewery, London. With over 100 high-achieving finalists heralding from businesses and organisations from Aberdeen to Lincolnshire and beyond, the event will celebrate the very best in business leadership.

Claire Ebrey Regional Director for the North West and Isle of Man said: “We could not be prouder of the individuals who deservedly won their categories at our regional awards ceremony back in April. We have every confidence that they will be bringing back a number of national accolades from October’s national final.

“The annual IoD Director of the Year awards give us such a great opportunity to publicly acknowledge  the diverse achievements of our entrepreneurial and inspiring business leaders here in the north west. It also gives us a platform to show the rest of the UK how we are pioneering best practice, even in these challenging times. We wish everyone the very best of luck!”

The full winners in list format were:

Corporate Social Responsibility – Donald Moore, Rowlinson Knitwear

Family Business – James Timpson OBE, Timpson Group

Inclusivity – Debbie Francis, Direct Rail Services Ltd

Innovation – Dr Maurizio Bragagni MBA, Tratos Ltd

International – Marnie Millard OBE, Nichols PLC

Non-Executive – Matthew White, The University Caterers Organisation Ltd

Public Sector – Steve Park, Warrington & Co.

Small-Medium Business – Donald Moore, Rowlinson Knitwear

Start-Up – Paul Kerruish, The Fynoderee Distillery

Third Sector – Maura Jackson, BACKUP North West

Young – Andrew Avanessian, AppLearn