Home Awards Region’s inspirational business leaders celebrated at 2018 IoD awards ceremony

Region’s inspirational business leaders celebrated at 2018 IoD awards ceremony

Claire Ebrey, the IoD's Regional Director for the North West

Ten regional business leaders were awarded a prestigious Institute of Directors (IoD) Director of the Year award last night at a sold-out ceremony in Manchester. Accolades went to the outstanding entrepreneurial individuals from throughout the region who each reflect the success of the business community thriving here in the North West.

Amongst the winners were the Business Growth Hub’s Richard Jeffery in the Public and Third Sector categories and Toby McCartney from MacRebur Ltd who scooped not one but two awards, in both the Start Up and Innovation categories.

The Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice, which was selected by the IoD regional Chair, Mike Blackburn OBE as someone who truly reflects the values of the IoD and is making a huge difference in our North West community, was given to Geoff Thompson MBE, the Executive Chair at Youth Charter.

The ten winners, who are listed in full below will go on to represent the North West at the national IoD awards final in London on the 18 October.

Claire Ebrey, the IoD’s Regional Director for the North West said: “This year’s entrants were truly outstanding and tonight is a great opportunity to celebrate the amazing pool of leadership talent that we have here in the region. We are extremely proud of all of our finalists. Establishing and running a business well is no mean feat, and doing that in a way that shines in our region, captures the imagination of other business leaders and exemplifies the highest standards for business practice, growth and innovation, is truly marvellous.

“All of our winners will go on to a national final in London later this year – I’m pretty confident that we will bring a lot of silverware back to the North West.”

Richard Jeffery, director of GC Business Growth Hub, said: “It’s an honour to have won such an illustrious award. The quality of everyone nominated tonight really highlights how strong the region’s business community is.

“This award is a great acknowledgement of all the hard work and success that everyone in GC Business Growth Hub, along with all our partners, clients and supporters, has achieved”.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice | Geoff Thompson MBE, FRSA, DL, Youth Charter – Salford

Non-Executive | Christine Gaskell MBE, DL, Cheshire and Warrington Local Enterprise Partnership

Public / Third Sector | Richard Jeffery – GC Business Growth Hub

New Business | Kelvin Wood – The Shield Safety Group

Family Business | Alison Reuben – Bluebell Fitted Furniture

Inclusivity | Erica Ingham – MediaCom North

Global | Barry Leahey MBE – Playdale Playgrounds Ltd

Innovation | Toby McCartney – MacRebur Ltd

CSR | Dr Julian Skyrme – The University of Manchester

Start Up | Toby McCartney – MacRebur Ltd