Home Awards EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2018 North finalists announced

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2018 North finalists announced

Victoria Price
EY has announced its 2018 Entrepreneur Of The Year North finalists today, with 13 businesses from the North West making the shortlist.

The shortlist highlights the vibrant diversity of the North’s entrepreneurial landscape, with companies from sectors such as retail, events, marketing, technology, education, energy and financial services represented.

The North West finalists are:

-Shamir Patel, managing director of Chemist-4-U.com, based in Skelmersdale

-Phil Foster, managing director of Love Energy Savings, based in Bolton

-Gavin Hamer, chairman of Matchstick Men, based in Wigan

-Nick Mitchell, chief executive of Ultimate Performance, based in Manchester

-Holly Moore, managing director of Make Events, based in Cheadle

– Steven Bartlett, chief executive and Dominic McGregor, chief operating officer of Social Chain, based in Manchester

-Alex Mollart, chief executive of 1st Stop Group, based in Blackpool

-Simon Potts, managing director of The Alchemist, based in Knutsford

-David Stanhope, chief executive of Voiteq and Cirrus Logistics, based in Blackpool

-Mohsin Issa and Zuber Issa, co-chief executives of EG Group, based in Blackburn

-David Bellis MBE, chairman of Innovative Technology, based in Oldham

-Scott Tolson, chief executive of Sigmatex (UK), based in Runcorn

-Dr Alan Ryder, chief executive of RSK, based in Helsby

Victoria Price, partner and EY Entrepreneur Of The Year leader in the North, said: “I’m so proud to lead this programme for EY in the North because I know it supports the incredible entrepreneurial community we have here. This year’s programme is recognizing and connecting another 20 Northern businesses, which create jobs and generate wealth, contributing to the continued growth of the North’s economy.”

The 20 finalists in the 2018 North programme will convene at an awards ceremony in Manchester in June, where an independent panel of judges will select winners in each category. Similar events will also be held in Scotland, the Midlands, and London.

Regional winners will then progress to the UK final held in London in November, to vie for the title ‘EY UK Entrepreneur Of The Year’. The UK country winner will then attend the ‘EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year Forum’ in Summer 2019, which gathers the world’s most inspiring entrepreneurs from more than 60 countries.

Celebrating its 20th anniversary in the UK, EY Entrepreneur Of The Year has recognised the contribution of thousands of entrepreneurs to the UK economy over the last two decades and has created an impressive network of innovators and business pioneers.

Some of Britain’s best known business figures are former EY Entrepreneur Of The Year winners, including: Stelios Haji-Ioannou, who founded the low cost airline easyJet; Dragon’s Den investor Peter Jones, who started-up Phones International Group; and Richard Reed, one of the founding partners of Innocent Drinks.

Previous winners in the North include Jennifer Atkinson of ITC Luxury Group, Fred Done of Betfred, James Lambert of R&R Icecream and Matthew Riley of Daisy Group plc

The EY Entrepreneur Of The Year North 2018 judging panel will be chaired by Mark Whitworth, CEO, Peel Ports Group.

Mark will be joined by:

  • Tayyab Akhlaq, director, Public Desire
  • Sarah Louise Fairburn, brand and sales director, L J Fairburn & Son
  • Alison Fielding, venture partner, IP Group plc
  • Matthew Hirst, CEO, Utiligroup
  • Catherine Richards, partner, Inflexion Private Equity
  • Glenn Timms, CEO, IESA